Thursday Thirteen: 13 Most Popular Resolutions

350px-postcards2cardsnewyearsresolution1915

It’s that time again, the passing of an old year and the beginnings of a new one.   And with the beginning of a new year comes new year’s resolutions, a commitment an individual intends to make and keep.  This tradition goes all the way back to 153 B.C. when a mythical God of early Rome by the name of Janus (God of gates, doors, beginnings and endings) became the ancient symbol for resolutions.  According to myth, Janus had two faces, allowing him to look back on both past events and forward to the future.

January 1st became the beginning of the new year in 46 B.C., when Julius Caesar developed a calendar to reflect the seasons more than previous calendars in use.  The Romans named the first month of the year after Janus.  On New Year’s Eve, the Romans began a tradition of exchanging gifts of branches from sacred trees thought to be for good fortune.

Throughout the years, New Years has changed to December 25 in the Middle Ages by the Christians, then changed it to March 25.  It wasn’t until the sixteenth century that Pope Gregory XIII revised the Julian calendar, returning New Years to January 1.

13 Top Resolutions:

  • Lose weight
  • Get out of debt
  • Save money
  • Get a better job
  • Get fit/ exercise more
  • Eat right
  • Quit smoking
  • Reduce stress
  • Take a trip
  • Be more independent
  • Watch less tv
  • Learn something new
  • Get a better education

What about you?  What are your new years resolutions?

Posted on January 8, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Oh, I learned a long time ago not to make resolutions. I have this weird rebel thing and I break them every time. NOT making them means I actually accomplish something in the new year. 😀

  2. I think I’ve made most of them at one time or another lol Not telling how many I kept,. Happy New Year!

  3. Cool TT! I don’t really do resolutions, though I do try to improve in a particular area of something I do!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://tinyurl.com/4zejcp

  4. Wouldn’t you know the most popular resolutions would also be the hardest.

    I had no idea the calendar had moved around to much.

  5. I’m with Nina. I don’t make ’em. LOL.
    I’m not surprised at the first one. I know me and The Redneck packed on the pounds over Christmas holidays.

  6. We woke up and the Thursday Thirteen was gone. Will it be back? No one knows. But for now here’s a little spot on the web to bring us all together again. http://www.thursday-13.com

  7. I only made two: get healthy and learn to live in the now.

  8. I didn’t make any, but wish much luck to those who did!

Leave a Reply

