Recipes: Homemade Thin Mints

I love baking and because I was craving mint and chocolate, I decided to go searching on one of my favourite baking sites called the Baking Bites and found a recipe that boasts of tasting like the thin mints you buy from the Girl Guides so I decided to try them out.  I found them simple to make.  I did leave them in the freezer a bit too long, I think, as they were a bit hard to cut, but it wasn’t all that difficult to cut them.  I tried a piece, and did decide however that I think there needs to be more mint to it, unless it’s just me, but I will see when they are completely finished and what others think about them at work (because after all, they are my test subjects… LOL). So here is the recipe below.  Check it out:

Homemade Thin Mints
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
6 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1/3 cup milk (any kind)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 tsp peppermint extract

In a small bowl, mix flour, cornstarch, cocoa powder together (I left out the salt, but that’s up to you.  I don’t really find a difference with it in).  In a larger bowl, cream together the butter and sugar, adding the milk and extracts.  According to the recipe, the mixture should look curdled (mine didn’t really).  Add in the flour and mix.

Next, you will be shaping the dough into two logs (about 1 1/2 inches) in diameter and then wrap it in plastic wrap and free for at least 1-2 hours until the dough is firm.

Preheat oven to 375F.

Slice dough into rounds not more than 1/4 inch thick  (I think mine were a bit too thick, but this has all been a trial so I’ll see)- if they are too thick, they will not be as crisp – and place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Cookies will not spread very much, so you can put them quite close together.  Bake for 13-15 minutes. Cool cookies completely on a wire rack before dipping in chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Coating
10-oz dark or semisweet chocolate (chocolate chips make the coating melt if left out for a bit)
1/2 cup butter, room temperature

Dip each cookie in melted chocolate, turn with a fork to coat, then transfer to a piece of parchment paper or wax paper to set up for at least 30 minutes, or until chocolate is cool and firm.

Makes 3 1/2-4 dozen cookies.

(EDITED TO ADD: I found personally for me that there wasn’t enough mint so I added some of the extract in the chocolate coating and it made them tasty.)

Posted on January 11, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

