Thursday Thirteen: 13 weird ice cream flavours

In the fifth century BC, ancient Greeks sold snow cones mixed with honey and fruit in the markets of Athens. Persians, having mastered the storage of ice, ate ice cream well into summer. Roman emperor Nero had ice brought from the mountains and combined with fruit toppings.   Ever since then,  ice cream has become a favourite to many.  There are many combinations I’d try… but these… are some that I would never touch. *shudder*

1.  Cactus

2. Raw Horseflesh

3.  Garlic

4.   Pit Viper

5.  Charcoal

6. Cypress tree

7.  Squid gut

8.  Squid ink

9. Ox Tongue

10.  Eel

11. Shark Fin Noodle

12. Seaweed

13. Lettuce and Potato

These were found here.  I think I’ll stick with my cookie dough ice cream.

Posted on January 22, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m happier than ever to be in Italy where I can have gelato in all sorts of flavors – none of them quite as weird as those, though! LOL!

    Of course, they’re only weird to us because we’re not accustomed to those flavors. Who knows? Cactus might not be so bad, really…?

    Ciao!

    Happy TT!

  2. Squid gut? Now that’s just plain wrong lol I think I’ll pass on icecream tonight lol
    Happy T13!

  3. I was thinking I might try the Seaweed flavor….just to try it. Man, those are WEIRD.
    But then there are weird things people put on pizza too.

  4. Squid? RAW horseflesh? These look Japanese to me.

  5. Note to self: Never eat ice cream in an Asian country.

    I’ll stick with Dove’s Caramel Toffee Moment, thanks.

  6. Eeeek! Weird and gross! LOL!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://tinyurl.com/4zejcp

  7. Oh … my …. gawd. I think I just threw up in my mouth a little. LOL

  8. Oh, ick! Give me fudge brownie or mint chip any day.

    (PS. I tried to reply several tiems yesterday, but could not get the post to go through. Crossing fingers for better luck today…)

Leave a Reply

