Thursday Thirteen: 13 Beautiful Libraries

I used to love the atmosphere of a library- the silence, the being surrounded by so many books… it can be a writer’s/reader’s haven.  My thursday 13 is on some of the most beautiful libraries around the globe.

1. Abbey Library St. Gallen, Switzerland

a300_l12

2. Trinity College LIbrary, AKA, The Long Room, Dublin, Ireland

a300_l3

3. Melk Monastery Library, Melk, Austria

a300_l4

4. Jay Walker’s Private Library

a300_l5

5. Library of Parliament, Ottawa, Canada

a300_l7

6. Strahov Monastery – Theological Library, Prague, Czech Republic

a300_l8

7. Herzog August Library, Wolfenbüttel, Germany

a300_l9

8. Wiblingen Monastary Library, Ulm, Germany

a300_l11

9. Library of the Benedictine Monastery of Admont, Austria

a300_l14

10. George Peabody Library, Baltimore, Maryland, USA

a300_l15

11. National Library, Belarus

a300_l16

12. Sansovino Library, Rome, Italy

a300_l18

13. Old British Reading Room, British Museum, London, England

a300_l19

For more interesting libraries, these and others can be found here.

Posted on February 19, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. WoW! Who wouldn’t be inspired sitting in any one of those libraries. The ceilings are amazing. Thanks for sharing. Happy T13!

  2. Those were stunning! I miss going to the library. Mine cut its hours and hasn’t bought too many new books due to budget issues. It just hasn’t been worth the drive. (It’s twenty miles away).

  3. Those are beautiful! I love libraries. Like you said, it’s something about the whole atmosphere. 🙂 Happy Thursday! *HUGS*

  4. Those are beautiful!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://tinyurl.com/4zejcp

  5. Want! I’m awestruck, seriously…

    Some of my favorite places in the world are libraries. I should get pics of the one here in Reggio – there is artwork on the top floor that is simply remarkable.

    Thanks for finding those for us – they’re beautiful!

    Ciao!
    Happy TT!

  6. Wow, gorgeous. Absolutely wonderful. I wanna go.

  7. I love libraries and the photos you’ve posted are gorgeous. I’ve visited the Trinity Library in Dublin and was suitably awed. it was amazing. Great topic for a TT.

  8. Those are all absolutely gorgeous! Sorry to have missed your post yesterday–I couldn’t get all those beautiful pics to download on my home computer.

  9. I really like those pics, but I have to say #10 looks like the three-story indoor mall up the road from my place.

Leave a Reply

