This Week in Science

Happy April Fools! 

It’s been a busy week, I almost wasn’t able to do this week’s, but I’m quickly going to jot it out because come on, who doesn’t want to learn more about what’s going on in the science world?  I know it’s something I get excited about, because it means more story ideas. 🙂

The first article this week is about how the brain responds to viral infection.  It may not seem all that interesting, but as someone who has always been curious about viruses, this article caught my attention.

Also, researchers are helping to save a rare venomous mammal that is shrew-like and kills its prety with a venomous bite.

Something of complete interest to me is Egyptology and this article jumped out at me right away.  A CT scan has revealed a hidden face underneath the bust of Nefertiti.

This last one I’m going to post is a bit weird and almost sci-fi-ish.  It has to do with a yeast-powered fuel cells that feeds on human blood which is thought one day to maybe power implants such as pacemakers.

Posted on April 1, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

