Thursday Thirteen: 13 writing tones

I was in the Acer chat last night and Bria brought up a ‘What tone you write’ kind of a fill in the blank thing.  So I thought I’d write some tones I think my writing/book falls under for fun in this week’s Thursday Thirteen.

My writing tone is ______

1 Dark.  First thing that comes to mind, I think is dark because there’s death and torment.  The characters have gone through a lot before the story has even begun, and not all of it is good.

2 Tense. Or I hope that I can get that across.  There’s supposed to be some tension of ‘whodunnit’ and what happens next.

3 Sexy.  Or at least I hope somewhat.  There’s romance.  I want what’s between the two main chars to be hot and sizzle off the page.

4 Intrigue.  That, oooh what’s next and what’s happening kind that leaves you turning t-shirt-although-the-voices-are-not-real-they-have-some-pretty-good-ideas-756604pages to find out what happens.

5 A chameleon. I think that my writing is adaptable.

6 Serious.  It deals with heavy matter that isn’t always comforting because it’s the environment that my chars grew up in.  They wouldn’t be who they are now if they didn’t go through certain life changing events.

7 Sarcastic.  Or at least at times it can be.  I’ve always been told I’m sarcastic and I think that comes across through my chars.

8 Dramatic.  Not something I really want in my writing and I’m editing it… but I feel it there.

9 A bit playful.  There’s a few scenes where the chars are playful which I hope lightens the story a bit.

10 Callous.  Or at least a few chars I know are.

11 Crazy.  Or maybe that’s just me. :p

12 Whimsical.  Everything is just a little bit odd… no one who they seem.  Everyone has a secret or two.

13 Complex.  There’s so many different story lines, so many elements that it leads to one complicated mess.

What are your writing tones?

Posted on April 9, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Kewl list. I’ve been told I am an emotional writer. I’m either making the readers laugh, or making them cry lol

    Happy T13!

  2. I’ve been told that my writing tone is:

    European

    Old-fashioned

    Romantic (in the classical sense, not the genre sense)

    Emotional

    I think those are good things…? LOL

    An intriguing concept, though. I’ll have to give it more thought.

    Ciao! Happy TT!

  3. My tones are all messed up. I write Romantic Suspense, but my tones are mostly just silly. Apparently that is my natural inclination.

  4. Stephanie Adkins

    Tense and sexy would tie for me. 🙂 Love your list. Happy Thursday! *Hugs*

  5. Great TT1 My writing is a combination of all of them except number ten!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://tinyurl.com/4zejcp

  6. I don’t know what “tone” my writing is. It doesn’t really fit in a box. LOL. Maybe someone who has read me could say, but I’m drawing a blank.

  7. Hmm, I’m never quite sure myself of the tone, but I’ve been told lyrical, romantic, emotional and complicated.

  8. talesfromthecrit

    Wow, what a great list and a great idea to fill in that blank. I’m going to go do this myself.

    Amber

    http://ambergilchrist.wordpress.com/

  9. The only ones I hear are pretty, lyrical, and rip-your-heart-out-and-salt-it-then-force-feed-it-to-you.

    http://talesfromthecrit.wordpress.com/

  10. Mine is definitely not dark. I’d say silly, sexy, funny, wry.

  11. I think sexy would fit mine, along with sarcastic and emotional. Or that’s at least what my CP thinks. 😉

    Good list!

  12. Great idea and list, Mel!

Leave a Reply

