Thursday 13: 13 little pieces of information about CSI

detective2Before CSI became a thing, I was the one in highschool who used to take out forensic books in the library, filling notebooks up with information that I figured one day I would use in my books.  I haven’t yet, but that doesn’t mean I won’t later on.  I decided to crack open those notebooks and thought for this thursday thirteen, I would pull out 13 random things I thought was interesting.

1. Tunial capsules- bluish and red.  They are very soluble in water and alcohol.  Tunial is a central nervous system depressant and in ordinary doses the drug can act as a hypnotic.  It takes affect in 15-30 mins and can last up to eleven hours.

2. You can get a fingerprint off a person’s skin for up to 90 mins.

3. Need to figure out how tall a person was or approximately the weight by their bones?  I have formulas to determine that.

4. Descriptions of the 6 kinds of serial killers.

5. Figuring out time of death through various techniques. (temp, bugs, etc). Bugs can also give clues about drugs (i.e. if the body had cocaine, there were be some in the bugs as well).

6.  75% of victims can be identified by their dental records.  Teeth can pinpoint race, age, lifestyle, diet and sometimes occupation.

7. When glass breaks, the glass showers toward the force, not away from it.

8. The point of blood splatter can indicate the direction in which the blood was moving.  Round drops for instance, on the ground means the person was standing and not moving.

9. Most people are secretors, that means that their blood type is present in their body fluids.  If the police find a cigarette or sweat stained hat, the crime lab can identify the suspect’s blood type.

10. Hair grows about a half an inch per month.  From a strand of hair, the crime lab can determine whether it comes from a human or animal, the ethnicity of the person, whether the hair fell out or was pulled out, if the person was taking drugs, if the person has a disease, what part of the body the hair comes from, whether it’s real or from a wig, and whether hair has been dyed  or bleached.

11. To speak even one word requires work of the vocal cords, palate, tongue, teeth, lips, nose, sinuses, and throat and jaw muscles.  Even when a person disguises his voice, it does not change the way those muscles work and it cannot fool a voiceprint.

12. One expert figured that the circumstances of 2 people having the same fingerprints would happen only once in 466,037,700 years.

13. There are 3 types of prints: visible which are easily seen by the naked eye (i.e. a person who has dirt, blood or grease on his fingers and leaves visible prints), plastic which are those that leave an impression (i.e. in paint, glue or another pliable substance) and latent which are invisible (i.e. formed when perspiration and oils are secreted from small pores in the ridges of the fingerprint).

Posted on April 23, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Very kewl list. I guess I know who to come to if I ever have a premise that requires forensic research. Happy Earth Day!

  2. Very cool list – are you on the yahoo crimescenewriter list?

  3. You know enough to commit the perfect crime. Umm, did I mention I have cookies? Yes, yes I do. Here, you can have them all. ::backs away slowly::

    😛

    Our T13 is up over at the Midnight Moon Cafe: http://midnightmooncafe.blogspot.com

    • hahaha I don’t know about perfect crime (not that I will admit at least. ROFL) but I use my knowledge for good. 🙂 Mmm cookies.

  4. That was really interesting!

    • Thanks! It was fun to look back at those notebooks. It’s been so long. I was always the kid in class reading about serial killers (granted at the time I wanted to be a profiler of sorts). Now I just use that info for stories. LOL

  5. This is great info. Thanks for doing my research for me.

  6. Interesting stuff. Í bet some of the things you found would inspire books, too.

  7. Very interesting stuff, there… I’m like Adelle – if I ever need this kind of information, I’m heading your way! 🙂

    Happy TT!
    Ciao…!

  8. Neat list. Forensics is always so interesting. I didn’t know that about glass.
    Happy T13 My 13

    • Yeah I love it. I can’t really stand the shows (I end up yelling at the chars and whatnot because what they all do is popularized.) but I enjoy learning about the techniques. The blood thing we did in class in my forensic anthro course.

  9. Very cool information. I’ve always loved forensics. Happy Thursday! *Hugs*

    • There’s a lot of great knowledge. Then again, it can be bad as well if you put that detail into books. I can’t remember who it was, but she writes these kinds of books, and when a serial killer was caught, they found that he had a lot of her books and that he’d highlighed passages of techniques. That to me is scary.

  10. Very interesting list, and I had no idea about #9.

  11. Hi, interesting post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for writing. I will definitely be subscribing to your posts.

Leave a Reply

